March 12, 2008

awards season isn’t over, folks.


the spring designs from rodarte

the cfda announced the nominees and special winners for 2008 and here’s the rundown:

Womenswear Designer of the Year
Marc Jacobs
Jack McCollough and Lazaro Hernandez for Proenza Schouler
Francisco Costa for Calvin Klein

Menswear Designer of the Year
Tom Ford
Thom Browne
Michael Bastian

Accessory Designer of the Year
Michael Kors
Marc Jacobs
Tory Burch

Swarovski Award for Womenswear
Laura and Kate Mulleavy for Rodarte
Alexander Wang
Thakoon Panichgul

Swarovski Award for Menswear
Scott Sternberg for Band of Outsiders
Tim Hamilton
Patrick Ervell

Swarovski Award for Accessory Design
Joy Gryson for Gryson
Justin Giunta for Subversive Jewelry
Philip Crangi

International Award
Dries Van Noten

Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award
Carolina Herrera

Board of Director’s Special Tribute
Mayor Michael Bloomberg

Eugenia Sheppard Award
Candy Pratts Price

the only real interesting choices here are among the swarovski nominees. kate and laura mulleavy should be up for womenswear designer of the year, not the “new” version. speaking of that category, where is narciso, vera wang, and peter som? they’ve been putting out phemonenal stuff recently.

the awards will be handed out on monday, june 2 at the new york public library. fran leibowitz will emcee.

pic from